Berne Davis Honorary Service Award

Berne Davis has committed most of her life to promoting Garden Clubs at all levels. She has given great support to our local community, and the Fort Myers-Lee County Garden Council, Inc.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Bernesign-300x225.jpg

Each year the Fort Myers-Lee County Garden Council honors a Person of the Year with the Berne Davis Honorary Service Award to a deserving member of a Garden Club or Society for community service, special projects, going above and beyond in a Garden Club or Society, and making a difference in advancing the goals of Garden Council.

This award will be given annually to one person. This award may be presented to a Garden Club or Society member who has demonstrated outstanding service and leadership previous to the award year. This award is in recognition from others bringing awareness of outstanding service and leadership qualities in the Fort Myers-Lee County Garden Council membership.

2020 Winners

Tree of Life Award Recipient: Sylvia Swartz – Garden Club of Cape Coral

Rainbow Award: This person displays energy, enthusiasm, inclusiveness and willingness to share information and expertise on a consistent basis. 2020 Recipient:  Sandy Troy – Pennington (Royal Palm Garden Club, Poinciana Garden Club)

Perennial Award: This person works behind the scenes, are steady and sure and can always be counted on and have displayed these traits over the years for Garden Council.
2020 Recipient:  Diana Lintner (Crown Colony Garden Club)

Busy Bee Award: This person fills a leadership role without hesitation, embraced the opportunity to serve and achieved a positive result for the Garden Council.
2020 Recipient:  Susan Lawson (Garden Club of Cape Coral, Potpourri Designers)

  • Berne Davis Honorary Service Award Nominees
  • Pam Dorchak (Periwinkle Garden Club)
  • Barbara Moore (Poinciana Garden Club)
  • Sylvia Swartz (Garden Club of Cape Coral)

2019 Winners

  • Rainbow Award-Debbie Hughes
  • Perennial Award-Suzy Valentine
  • Busy Bee Award-Carolee Drostos-Swales
  • Tree of Life-Berne Davis Award- Paula Novander

Previous Award Winners

Translate »